Skip to content

History of the Beccaria Medal

The “Beccaria Medals” and the International Society for Social Defense

By Mario Pisani Professor at the University of Milan

Do the listeners, and the readers, of tomorrow wonder why, some years ago, the Social Defense Society set out to promote the initiative to award a medal named after the great Cesare Beccaria. The answer to such a question can, in fact, be divided into two parts, starting by asking ourselves how and why, the entity promoting the initiative – and therefore the social defense movement itself for a humanistic criminal policy – ​​understood that this was traceable to the name and the great teachings of Beccaria. Such an answer was already given, at the time, by Marc Ancel. And so, on the occasion of the international Congress with which, on 1989, was commemorated in Milan by the National Center for Prevention and Social Defense the 250 anniversary of the birth of the great enlightened lombard, ancel wrote: “For the purpose of excluding iniquity and barbarism from the penal system, and in the task of taking charge of guaranteeing, at once, its actual effectiveness (Beccaria) it is proposed, for that reason, adapt to social conditions, economic and cultural aspects of the society in which it was to be applied, or the society that was intended to be sought within the great movement of the age of enlightenment. also this way, especially this way, Beccaria lays the foundations for the intellectual and moral path that, passing through classical criminal law, will lead to the development of a humanistic criminal policy. It is in the name of it, and to this exact extent, full of nuances and intertwined issues, that the current followers of Social Defense can, with all due acknowledgment, see in him an undoubted precursor”.

There is then a second part of the initial question that deserves an answer: namely, how and why it arose in the approaches of the "Societé" that the memory of Beccaria materialize in a specific commemorative medal, year after year. In this respect the answer is simpler and, To some extent, reserved, because it leads us to the story of our own internal chronicles. And so, on the occasion of the Board of Directors of Toledo on November 1, 2003, the new elected president, Zapatero Creek (p.4 of the minutes) He addressed a member of the Council asking him to think “of a concrete sign of recognition by the SiDS towards those who have earned particular merits in the course of their activity in defense of a humanist criminal policy (a medal, for example)”. And the medal was made immediately, gold for its highly symbolic value, after the generous gesture of the Milan City Council, who put at our disposal the model minted a few years earlier on the occasion of the 250 anniversary before noted.

The awarding of the Beccaria medal began after, from December 2004, after a deliberation in favor of the honorary President of the Societé, M.me Simone Rozés, already president of the French Court of Cassation, and, successively, in favor of Hans Henrich Jescheck and Giuliano Vassalli. But for organizational reasons, the award ceremony for M.me Rozés had to be delayed for some time., until finally taking place on the occasion of the meeting organized by ISPAC, in Courmayeur, in December of 2005. To present, in form of eulogy, the “motivation” for awarding the medal, President Arroyo Zapatero highlighted “…it would suffice to say that Simone Rozès was our President for many years and that she represented great way the ideas of our founders, our renewed minimal program, and ourselves”. And so the first award ceremony had as its protagonist, and recipient, al prof. Check, on the occasion of the celebration of his 90 birthday, which took place in Freiburg on 10 of January of 2005. By delegation of the President of the Society delivery was made by Klaus Tiedemann, which thus synthesized the characteristics of the scientific career of the great German master: “essential contribution to the development of penal science, especially through the inclusion of guarantees of the rule of law and comparative law; humanist orientation of criminal policy (…); emphasis on social aspects of the criminal law system”.

had a place afterwards, in Milan, the 18 march 2005, the delivery of the medal to Giuliano Vassalli, already president of the Italian Constitutional Court and Minister of Justice. The themes of the introductory "speech" by President Zapatero would also be taken up in the "allocution" of the author of these words, to celebrate scientific excellence, and not only, of the great Roman jurist: “an example prodigious devotion to penal studies and multifaceted creative fervor”.

On the occasion of the XV International Congress of the Society (Toledo, september 2007), a “Medalla Beccaria” was awarded for the fourth time. On this occasion, honors were paid to the figure and work of Juan Guzmán Tapia, already magistrate of the Court of Appeal of Santiago de Chile, became emeritus in the process of transition to democracy in that country6. In his acceptance speech, J.. Guzmán remembered for the rest: “…Before there was talk of Human Rights, Cesare Bonesana, Marquis of Beccaria, lights the luminous torch of humanity as a precursor of these principles and these rights that two hundred years later are contained in the Treaties, International Conventions and in the Constitutions of the most advanced nations”.

The "privileged circle” – this is how Tiedemann described it at the time – of the winners of our prestigious “medal” has been expanding, also beyond Europe. And now is the time, in Madrid, of two other great figures of jurists of our time, of diverse origin and nationality, and of different vocation and scientific merits: Mireille Delmas Marty and M. Cherif Bassiouni. But with respect to both, the eulogies what, respectively, correspond to them, with all admiration and gratitude. and those who join, from near or from a distance, the warmest congratulations from all of us.

Spanish translation by Miguel Ángel Rodríguez Arias, Institute of European and International Criminal Law (UCLM).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Share it on networks:

No comment yet, add your voice below!


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

categories
Recent logins

Privacy Policy

Skip to content

Histoire de la Médaille Beccaria

Les « Médailles Beccaria » et la Société Internationale de Défense Sociale

Par Mario Pisani

1. Les auditeurs, et les lecteurs, de demain se demanderont peut‐être pourquoi depuis plusieurs années la Société Internationale de Défense Sociale s’est proposée de décerner une médaille à l’effigie du grand Cesare Beccaria. La réponse à cette question peut, de fait, être divisée en deux parties, en commençant par interroger comment et pour quelle raison, l’entité promoteur de cette initiative – et par conséquent le mouvement même de défense sociale pour une politique criminelle humaniste – a entendu se référer au nom et aux grands enseignements de Une réponse a déjà été donnée, en son temps, par Marc Ancel. C’est ainsi que, à l’occasion du Congrès international de 1989, organisé à Milan par le Centre National de Prévention et de Défense Sociale, au cours duquel fut commémoré le 250ème anniversaire de la naissance de l’illustre lombard, Ancel écrivait: « Afin d’exclure l’iniquité et la barbarie du système pénal, tout en ayant, dans le même temps, pour but de garantir son efficacité concrète, [Beccaria] se propose de l’adapter aux conditions sociales, économiques et culturelles de la société qui s’instaure, ou dont on recherche l’avènement, dans le cadre du grand mouvement des Lumières. Aussi de cette façon, et surtout de cette façon, Beccaria jette les bases du parcours intellectuel et moral qui, passant par le droit pénal classique, conduira au développement d’une politique criminelle humaniste. C’est à ce titre, et dans cette mesure même, riche d’implications et de nuances, que les disciples de la Défense Sociale peuvent, avec reconnaissance, voir en lui un indubitable précurseur ».

2. Demeure ensuite la seconde partie de la réponse à la question initiale : comment et pourquoi, suivant l’esprit de la « Société », le souvenir de Beccaria s’est matérialisé, année après année, au travers d’une médaille commémorative. La réponse est, cette fois, plus simple et, dans une certaine mesure, confidentielle puisqu’elle réside dans nos écrits internes. A l’occasion du Conseil de direction de Tolède du 1er novembre 2003, le nouveau président élu, Arroyo Zapatero (p.4 du procès‐verbal) s’est adressé à un membre du Conseil en vue de réfléchir à « un signal concret de reconnaissance adressé par la SIDS à ceux qui ont fait montre au cours de leur activité de mérites particuliers pour la défense d’une politique criminelle humaniste (une médaille, par exemple) ». Et la médaille, en or pour sa valeur hautement symbolique, s’est immédiatement concrétisée grâce au geste généreux de la Municipalité de Milan qui mit à notre disposition le modèle frappé quelques années auparavant à l’occasion du 250 anniversaire précédemment visé.

3. L’attribution de la médaille Beccaria a ensuite débuté, à partir de décembre 2004, à la suite de la délibération en faveur du Président honoraire de la Société, Madame Simone Rozès, ancienne Présidente de la Cour de cassation française, et par la suite, par ordre chronologique, en faveur de Hans Henrich Jescheck et Giuliano Vassalli. Mais pour des raisons d’ordre organisationnel, la cérémonie d’attribution à Madame Rozès dut être reportée, pour finalement avoir lieu à l’occasion de la rencontre organisée par l’ISPAC, à Courmayeur, en décembre 2005. Pour présenter, en forme de laudatio, les « motifs » de la remise de la médaille, le Président Arroyo Zapatero s’exprimait en ces termes : « il suffirait de dire que Simone Rozès a été notre Président durant de nombreuses années et qu’elle a représenté d’une manière formidable les idées de nos fondateurs, notre programme minimal renouvelé, et nous‐mêmes »3. C’est ainsi que la première cérémonie d’attribution eut pour protagoniste et destinataire le professeur Jescheck, à l’occasion de la célébration de son 90ème anniversaire, qui eut lieu à Freiburg le 10 janvier 2005. Par délégation du Président de la Société, la remise fut réalisée par Klaus Tiedemann, qui synthétisait ainsi les caractéristiques de la trajectoire scientifique du grand maître allemand : « apport essentiel au développement de la science pénale, spécialement à travers l’inclusion des garanties de l’Etat de droit et du droit comparé ; orientation humaniste de la politique criminelle (…) ; insistance sur les aspects sociaux du système du droit pénal »4. Puis, c’est à Milan, le 18 mars 2005, qu’eut lieu la remise de la médaille à Giuliano Vassalli, ancien Président de la Cour Constitutionnelle italienne et Ministre de la Justice. Les axes du « discours » introductif du Président Zapatero se trouvaient repris dans l’« allocution » de l’auteur de ces lignes, pour célébrer, entre autres choses, l’excellence scientifique du grand juriste romain : « un exemple prodigieux de dévouement aux études pénales et de ferveur créatrice multiforme ».

A l’occasion du XVème Congrès International de la Société (Tolède, septembre 2007), était décernée pour la quatrième fois une « Médaille Beccaria ». En cette occasion, c’est à la figure et à l’œuvre de Juan Guzmán Tapia, ancien magistrat de la Cour d’Appel de Santiago du Chili, devenu émérite avec le processus de transition démocratique de ce pays, que les honneurs étaient rendus6. Dans son discours de remerciement, J. Guzmán rappelait notamment : « Avant que l’on ne parle de Droits de l’homme, Cesare Bonesana, Marquis de Beccaria, allume la torche ardente de l’humanité, en précurseur des principes et des droits qui deux cents ans plus tard sont contenus par les Traités, les Conventions internationales et les Constitutions des nations développées ».

4. Le « cercle privilégié » – ainsi que le qualifiait, en son temps, Tiedemann – des récompensés par notre prestigieuse médaille s’est enrichi par‐delà l’Europe. C’est à présent le tour, ici à Madrid, de deux autres grandes figures du droit de notre temps, d’origine et de nationalité différentes, et de vocation et de mérites scientifiques divers : Mireille Delmas‐Marty et Cherif Bassiouni. Mais c’est aux laudatios qu’il revient, pour chacun d’eux, d’exprimer toute l’admiration et la gratitude. S’y unissent, de prés et de loin, le plus fervent hommage de notre part à tous.

The list of the receiver of the medal is:

Simone Rozès, President of the Cassation Court de France and President of the SIDS.

Hans Heinrich Jescheck, President of AIDP and Director of Max Planck Institut In Freiburg.

Giuliano Vassalli, Justice Minister and President of the Constitutional Court of Italy.

Juan Guzmán. Judge in Chile.

Mireille Delmas-Marty, Professor of Criminal Law in Sorbonne, Paris, and member of the Collége de France.

Cherif Basiouni, President of The AIDP and of the Institut of Human Rigths of De Paul University, Chicago. USA.

Sergio Garcia Ramirez. Former President of the Interamerican Human Rights Cour and suprem General Attorney of Mexico.

David Baigún. Director of Postgraduate Studies in Law of University Buenos Aires.Argentine.

Roger Hood, Director of the Center for Criminology of Oxford.

Mario Pisani. Professor of procedure and penal Law in Milan University and Director of the Cahiers de Défense Sociale.

Pedro David. President of the Cassation Court of Argentina. Former Interregional Adviser on Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice of the UNODC (1981-1993)

Klaus Tiedemann. Director of the Institut for Criminology and Economic Criminal Law, University of Freiburg. Germany.

Jorge Figueiredo Dias. Director of the Institut for European and economic Criminal Law of Coimbra, Portugal. President of the International Penal and Penitenciary Fondation.

Adolfo Beria di Argentina. President of the Centro Nazionale di Prevenzione e Difesa Sociale. Gao Mingxuan. Emeritus Professor of the College of Criminal Sciences of the Normal University of Beijing.

 

 

Compártelo en redes:

Aún no hay comentarios, ¡añada su voz abajo!


Añadir un comentario

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada.

Categorías
Entradas Recientes

Política de Privacidad